Mineral Wells Area News

County 4-H Kids Earn over $30K in Scholarships at State Round Up

County 4-H Kids Earn over $30K in Scholarships at State Round Up
August 26
18:44 2021

By: Amy Sabbaatini-Bearden

Every summer kids across the state who have spent the previous year participating in 4-H projects gather to be recognized or to compete for top honors in their respective categories. Palo Pinto County kids fared well at the 2021 event held in College Station.

“Palo Pinto County 4-H was represented at the 75th annual Texas 4-H Roundup by scholarship recipients, participants in the Photography Contest and teams competing in FCH Quiz Bowl and the Indoor Rifle Match,” said county extension agent Lynette Babcock.

According to Babcock, the Texas 4-H Youth Development Foundation distributed just under $2.8 million dollars in scholarships to outgoing 4-H members this year and fortunately kids in the county claimed $33,000 of that money.

The following Palo Pinto County 4-H members were recognized for their involvement and academic success and were awarded scholarships:

Elaina Buchanan – Richard Wallrath Educational Foundation, $10,000.00
Savannah Gage – Fort Worth Stock Show and Rodeo, $8,000.00
Brett Phillips – Johnie Schulte Memorial Scholarship, $5,000.00
Morgan Ray – Ft. Worth Stock Show Syndicate, $10,000.00

In team contests, Kaleb Carter, Bella Mahone and Trynt Talley competed in the Texas 4-H Roundup Indoor Rifle Match held in Victoria. This team qualified for state after winning 2nd at the District 3 4-H Rifle Contest.

Palo Pinto County 4-H was also represented by a Family & Community Health Quiz Bowl Team that competed in College Station. Team members were Carmen Cheguen, Yareni Davila Cabrera, Abigail Maldanado and Sarah Morris.

In the Texas 4-H Photography Contest, Palo Pinto County 4-H members submitted a total of eleven photos that had advanced from the county contest. Participants were:

Elaina Buchanan – Motion/Action, Red Award; People, Blue Award; Plant/Flora, Blue Award; and Elements of Design, Blue Award
Logan Lantrip – Animals (Domestic), Red Award; Catch All, Blue Award; and Food, Red Award
Justin Patton – Details & Macro, White Award; Landscape & Nature, Blue Award; Leading Line, Red Award
Katherine Peugh – Animals (Wildlife), Blue Award